My birthday surprise

My birthday surprise

It was my birthday this week and I was 28- again, obvs.

Any how, after a not so good start to 2016 and mostly drama after that my beloved had arranged a surprise for me.

I have been so poorly the last few weeks with the dreaded man flu that I hadn’t really thought about my birthday. 

So the day started with me waking up sneezing and coughing, which has been pretty standard with this virus.  I was presented with a big box of presents by my beloved which was nice. However when I started opening them, I was to be honest confused and disappointed. Turns out he had bought me a ‘mystery box’ from groupon. Apparently some of them have iPads in…. This one didn’t.

Before you decide that I am ungrateful, I would like to point out that the items in the mystery box were items that we already own. I simply hate wasting money.

I went to the hair dressers in a bit of a grump. A few years ago he pulled the groupon number on my birthday, it was even worse then the mystery box. The boy just loves a bargain.

There was still hope though, as he was still taking me out for lunch. I went home with my new hair and we had a cup of tea.

He told me that the mystery box was a joke (thank god) and my real present was…..

A NIGHT OVER IN ST DAVIDS HOTEL AND SPA IN CARDIFF BAY WITH TREATMENTS AND AFTERNOON TEA!! 

I couldn’t believe it! He’s not very romantic and this was such a huge shock!

He’d even arranged pet care for our fur babies!! 

So off we went to the very beautiful hotel, and had the best massage in ages. I felt like Mr Soft!!

I can not explain easily how delicious, luxurious and throughly enjoyable my birthday was. So I will let the pictures do the talking for me.

Next was afternoon tea. It was simply delicious…

   
    
   
Next the room….

   
     

  The boy had gone all out! I couldn’t believe it! 

St Davids also sent up a little message… 

 
In the evening we went into the bay for dinner, where once again my beloved had a surprise for me.

 
He had asked some of my friends from Swansea to come and meet us! We all work full time and have such busy lives that it can be difficult to get everyone together, so it was so wonderful to see them!

There was one more surprise..

  
THE CAKE!! We do not have children but we do have fur babies and we adore them! My beloved decided that they needed to part of the celebrations too!

It was such a wonderful day, I’m stil in shock that he managed to pull it all off without me finding out! 

I loved every second of it and didn’t want to leave the hotel!

I mean, look….

  
I was dreading turning 34. I am some times led to believe that I have failed at life because I am not a millionaire, married or a mother. But these are other people’s beliefs, not my failings.

I have so so SO much to be grateful for in my life – my beloved and my absolutely amazing friends mean so much to me.

Take some you time and enjoy life.

Laura xx

Leave a Reply

