My life changing day

My life changing day

As you are all aware – I love to better myself and my surroundings.

I love to learn! I am always looking for new things to take part in and education is very important to me.

When I was in school, I was seen as the ‘gobby’ one, the one who could try harder. I was aways bigger then the other girls, and was never encouraged to take part in any sports. Instead we (the non sporty girls like myself) were sat in a different hall, or at the side of the pitch while the sporty girls practised netball etc and we watched. What a great use of my educational time.

Because I was gobby and not good at sports, I was never encouraged.  I believe I am far from dull but when I achieved 9 (yes 9) GCSE’s, the teachers nearly died of shock. They went so far as to say that they were very ‘surprised.’

I went on to achieve another GCSE, 3 A-Levels, a degree, ILM and CIM qualifications as well as several training and tutoring qualifications- all this from the gobby girl that no one encouraged. The girl that was told she could maybe aspire to arrange flowers some where but would probably not make it as a fully fledged florist.

However, at home I was always encouraged to achieve my education and my dreams. My father drummed into me how important it was to learn and take opportunities to do so, regardless of what other people think you are capable of.

Today I graduated from LEAD Wales, run by Swansea University, with a CIM qualification. I am so proud of myself and the course has completely changed my outlook on life. If it wasn’t for this course, I would never have had the confidence to start this blog- which I love!

Not only have I increased my knowledge, expanded my skills and grown my confidence, but I have also forged strong friendships, which I hope will last a lifetime.

So my message to you is- believe in yourself. If I could go back in time I would tell my 16 year old self- YOU ARE GOOD ENOUGH! I would also congratulate her on making it through school and urge her to never question her ability.

Now at 33 years old, I finally feel ‘good enough’. I finally feel that I am good enough to try anything I want to and if I fail, so what. I gave it a go.

Today I realised that the world can think what it likes about me- I don’t care! Words sting and they are hard to forget, but don’t waste time and opportunities pondering them.

   

 

2 thoughts on “My life changing day

Leave a Reply

